Suburban Symphony are an Alternative/Indie band from North West England that formed in 2014. The band began as an acoustic project between lead vocalist Tone and lead guitarist Giz. Their early material was created through a highly unconventional songwriting process, where Tone would compose vocal melodies in his head during long days working as a plasterer, and then sing them to Giz who would then figure out the chords and harmony that fit under the melody. This combination of Tony’s natural musical intuition and Giz’s arrangement skills gave rise to such songs as “Mr. Man”, “Stepping Stones” and “Travelling”. Realising the songs had great potential, they brought the rest of the band members on board and began an intense and prolific collaborative writing process. Having crafted a great set of songs and honed them during a busy gigging schedule, Suburban Symphony entered Hilltown Studios in 2015 to record their debut album with producer/engineer Mat Arnold, and studio owner Keiron Melling (drummer of The Fall).

With the struggle of juggling full-time jobs and trying to get the album recorded, the band finally released their debut single “Stepping Stones” in August 2017; followed by their debut self-titled in September that year. The band promoted these releases by supporting acts such as The Feeling, From The Jam, The Kaiser Chiefs, The Cribs, Big Country, Space and many other established acts throughout the UK. This saw them perform at the iconic Shepherd’s Bush Empire and they were also fortunate enough to play at events such as Camden Rocks, Grinagog Festival, The Great British Alternative Music Festival, Moto GP 2017, Love Summer Festival, Bands On The Square, F1 Grand Prix 2018 and many other high profile events.

While performing a manic gigging schedule, the band continued to keep writing at their weekly Wednesday meet up and decided to get back in the studio. This time with still juggling full-time jobs and band life, they decided to take a more productive approach and record a bunch of singles with The Animal Farm Music in London. The band agreed a deal to release these singles through The Animal Farm Music, beginning with the societal observation “Cutbacks” on 17th May 2019. The observational lyrics being of the political landscape at the time don’t hold much positivity, but mixed with the key of D Major the song resulted in a people’s anthem; that got the UK realising just who these 5 men from North West England are.

Suburban Symphony continue to release a sound that bridges the Britpop era with a modern Alternative/Indie twist; coloured with melancholy vocal melodies, three-part harmonies and instantly catchy guitar work and rhythms.


Band Members:

Lead Vocals – Anthony Edwards
Guitar/Vocals – Andrew Gilmour
Guitar/Vocals – Tom Hargreaves
Bass – Sam Bisset
Drums – Lewis Rennison

– Pages –